This is the "Literary Analysis" page of the "Literary Analysis and Literature Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literary Analysis and Literature Resources  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2011 URL: http://smwest.smsd.libguides.com/LiteratureAnalysis Print Guide RSS Updates

Literary Analysis Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Literature Resource Center at www.kslib.info (open in new tab)

 

Gale Virtual Reference Ebooks in kslib.inf (open in new tab)

 

Gale PowerSearch

 

Citing Lit. Criticism from a Collection

Find a Book in the North Library

The book you are looking for may be on a cart for your class. Ask the librarian.

Writing Research Papers

 

Literature Resource Center from Gale

Literature Resource Center Database at www.kslib.info (open in a new tab)

Check out the Literature Resource Center from the State Library of Kansas for more full text articles and images too. You may search by the person (author) or the title.

Important: >Go to a new tab and open kslib.info > Click on "Explore our Resources"  > Click on "Literature Resource Center" on the right side of the page under "Popular Topics" (or click on any database and return to this page to use the Lit Resource Center search box to the left.) 

How to use the Literature Resource Center

  • Search by the name of the person or the name of the work.

  • Click on tabs at top of search results

  • Narrow or broaden topic through the list on the left of the search results

  • Pay attention to page numbers in search results to find longer articles

  • Look for pdf or full-text results

  • If you want to try to find the entire article when the search turns up an abstract, try Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com/

How to do a PowerSearch with the Gale Databases

  • Open any of the Gale Databases from the kslib.info page, follow the directions labeled "Important" above.
  • You may follow the directions below, or click back to this tab and use the "PowerSearch" box to the left.
  • Click on "Change Resources" or "Change Databases"
  • Click on the "Select All" box at the top of the page.
  • Hit the "Continue" button.
  • You will go to a PowerSearch page, and can put in your topic.
 

Assignment Planner

Put in the date you start your research paper and the day it is due, the Assignment Planner will come up with a timeline for you to follow!

KU Assignment Planner

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Rhonda Mundy
Contact Info
913.993.7817
Send Email
 

Why Can't I Find Literary Criticism with Google?

Using Google for searches is fast, fun and usually gives you tons of results. However, when you are searching for specific critical articles about works of literature, you will discover that using online databases is a better way to find exactly what you need. The State Library of Kansas subscribes to the Literature Resource Center, which previously was only available for a fee.

KU Scholar Page for Research

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip